A link between overworlds

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

A link between overworlds Empty A link between overworlds

Post by scawful Sun 11 Aug 2013 - 18:29

As you can read in my hacks development thread I was discussing with puzzledude the possibilities of crossing over to the dark world without a teleport. He recommended using a standard connection entrance recoded with asm to switch the byte from light world to dark world, however I'm just learning how to do SNES asm and I couldn't pull something like this off.

So I'm wondering if there is anyone with more asm experience that would be willing to help me out to create a way to cross between the light and dark world bug free without a warp. I would plan to really only use this at 2 points if possible, one being the castle and the other being the castle garden as a means of sneaking in on one world and coming out in another. It would be really great if someone could help me out because a lot of my main idea goes into "combining" the two overworlds.
scawful
scawful

A link between overworlds Image211

Since : 2013-07-04

http://zeniea.com

Back to top Go down

A link between overworlds Empty Re: A link between overworlds

Post by Conn Sun 11 Aug 2013 - 19:06

The switch between light and dark world is 7ef3ca: if 00= light world, if 40 dark-world, naturally since the dark world screens have always the value 40 more than the light world screens

If you make a screen transition, 7Ef3ca will be added to the screen you enter (7E/008a).
So you enter screen 2c.
if you are in light world it stays 2c (00), if dark world 7ef3ca with the value 40 will be added, so screen 6c.

You can simply try this on your emulator. Cheat on Light world with
7ef3ca-40, enter the next screen and you are in dark world... but not without graphical glitches.
The only way to get rid of the glitches is to reload the screen in a mosaic way (similar as when you enter lost woods). The same is happening when using a transport.